Us States And The Paris Agreement

The founding press statement was released in three versions on June 1, all of which stated: “New York, California and Washington, which account for more than one-fifth of the U.S. gross domestic product, are committed to meeting the U.S. goal of reducing emissions by 26-28% from 2005 levels and meeting the federal clean energy plan`s goals.” [7] [9] The governors of the three founding states are members of the Democratic Party, although the alliance itself is formed as a bipartisan coalition open to membership in states governed by members of the Republican Party. The main objective of the agreement is to keep the increase in the average global temperature at a level well below 2oC above pre-industrial levels, including by reducing greenhouse gas emissions. The agreement is different from the 1997 Kyoto Protocol, the last UNFCCC amendment, which was widely adopted, as no annex is established to reduce the liability of developing countries. On the contrary, emission targets have been negotiated separately for each nation and must be implemented voluntarily, so U.S. officials view the Paris agreement as an executive agreement rather than a legally binding agreement. This reversed the U.S. Congress` commitment to ratify the agreement. [20] In April 2016, the United States signed the Paris Agreement and adopted it by executive order in September 2016. President Obama forced the United States to pay $3 billion for the Green Climate Fund.

[21] The Fund has set a goal of raising $100 billion per year by 2020. Of the six U.S. states of California, Connecticut, Minnesota, New York, Oregon and Vermont, one (Connecticut) has already met its 2020 target, while another (New York) is 8% below 1990 baseline emissions. California and New York are also the headquarters of the Western Climate Initiative and the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative – two cap-and-trade programs in several U.S. states and provinces across Canada. In response to the withdrawal, the governors of California, New York and Washington created the United States Climate Alliance the following week and pledged to halt the Paris agreement within their borders. [74] [75] On the evening of June 1, 2017, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Oregon, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Vermont and Virginia announced their intention to partner with members of the United States Climate Alliance to achieve the goals of the Paris Agreement. Governors in other states have also expressed interest in maintaining the agreement. [76] [77] [78] In November 2020, the Alliance had 24 states, as well as Puerto Rico and American Samoa. [79] [80] In the transportation sector, Colorado recently adopted the California zero-emission vehicle (ZEV) mandate, which requires automakers to achieve a minimum level of electric vehicle sales by 2025.